Faster than a speeding Train!

In response to a request, posted in this thread, I suggested the following few options. As he posted I was already gathering options.  Indeed faster than a speeding train 🙂

Here is a tie that is a little misleading.  When looked at it with the PC you dont get the true colors in it.  Due to its Plum warp (catena) you get a shimmering purple color in there.  Well matched with this suit and shirt combo. I used this square as its a flash of color that works.

This tie is too dark I fear for this suit and darkish shirt.  Not my favorite.

Just like Goldilocks, I think that this color in this tie is just right.  It livens up the darker shirt by giving contrast.  reverse contrast perhaps but contrast nonetheless.

And this tie gives a pop with the pink and lavender stripes against the black.

Finally, when linking posts, I was reminded of the ties in this post will work well as well.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fromthewaistup.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/faster-than-a-speeding-train/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was hoping you’d recommend the second one 🙂 It really looks gorgeous. But, as you say, it is a bit too dark for this combo.

    I like all of them except the third one, it’s not bad, but it is a bit too light for my taste. The other ones are amazing, and the only problem is i doubt I’ll be able to find anything like that, but I at least now know what to look for.

    What shirt should i wear for the second tie to work with this suit? Light pink?

    Thank you so much for your effort!

    • Working backwards through your post I will tell you that its no effort. I enjoy this part of my business.

      Now, for the second tie to work well I might suggest a lighter suit or even with a black or charcoal suit, perhaps a lighter shirt. Light blue works or white (of course) and grey. See here for more on the subject. https://fromthewaistup.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/the-black-catena/

      And here:

      https://fromthewaistup.wordpress.com/?s=FH80F-09-PR&submit=Search

      For more on that tie. I suppose that pink would technically work but I am not sure I would go there.

      Again, I think that the best action you can get from that tie is to go lighter in suit color so that the tie gets a chance to tell its story.

      Finally, I have linked most of what I have written about in most of my posts to the articles in question from my store, http://www.FourInHand.com so if you like anything you see on the blog you can generally buy it from the store. Plus to remind you the items would be discounted for a period of 7 days from when I post it. (But not if you ask me to post it only if I post it unsolicited by others.)

      Have a great day!

  2. Thanx for your help. I doubt i’ll find something even remotely close to ties here, but atleast i got best tips on what to look for. Unfortunately, the event is this saturday so i don’t have time to order from your site 😦


Leave a comment